Pea Salad

Image

There is nothing like a fresh, cold, crunchy with cashews, pea salad!  But it can’t be just any pea salad. It has to be pea salad in the midst of friends, relatives, babies, puppies, grown up “weiner” dogs, and loud, crazy people.

My darling niece was honored at a baby shower for her then soon to be born, little boy.  I don’t often get to see my family what with work and life in general always getting in the way.  But having a get together on labor day weekend is a great excuse to get away and stop and eat the salads..pea salad to be sure!

And as people who are close to their friends will tell you, the best of your friends will let you grow apart from each other without growing apart from each other.  And so it is with our family.  Once we are all in the same room, its all about catching up and loving each other regardless of what may have occurred since we last saw each other.  We talk and cry and laugh and eat pea salad.

We look at each others babies, as if they were our own and smile.

We hold the new born, still blind baby dachshunds sleeping in the tub while the momma looks on nervously.  Sorta like we look over our own babies….with love and caution.

We wonder aloud, how can  she ride a steer?  Aren’t you scared for her?  What a beautiful child.

We love on our great, great aunt and grandmas, current and yet to be.  They look on as if they have seen it all before and wonder how it will be different for the next generation.

We watch as babies take their first steps and run around the house holding balloons, astonished at the colorful toy’s ability to float.  Little do they know that soon and for the rest of their little child lives, we will walk around astonished that they have indeed learned to fly.

We don’t seem to be aware of our lives changing as they change, but I’m not around enough to be lulled into thinking that time moves slowly.  Every time I see my hometown friends and family I am greeted by kids who have grown incrementally (in my eyes) both physically and mentally.  I see the grand changes, not the little ones.  So, I’m lucky, because I get to appreciate the changes, and unlucky because I miss the little ones.

And we crowd into a house and take it over.  Private man cave?  I think not.    We end up looking like peas in a pod.  All crowded, hugging, holding, rocking, swinging, bumping, talking, laughing, crying…all together, sharing our lives….missing the peas that aren’t there…

And eating pea salad…cold, crunchy with cashews pea salad.

Thanks for being my friends.

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Family, Family Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.