I<3Josie

Image

Once I received a cryptic text message from one of my old pals. It said call me as soon as possible…so naturally I forgot to call back until the middle of making dinner that night.

I carefully retrieved the cell phone number provided and in an effort to be lighthearted, I texted the message, “XX its me. Caro. Remember me? I used to work with you. I can’t believe I forgot to call you back.”

About 45 minutes later I received this message:

“Who is this? I ❤ Josie.”

I laughed out loud. Literally.

I checked the number one more time, and I replied with a sincere apology indicating I had texted the wrong number.

What I really liked was his answer….I ❤ Josie. With these three little words he made it clear that he was not interested in anything I had to say because he is dedicated to his “Josie.”

I think that there are a great many men and women like that out there. But they are not just dedicated to their partners. They are also dedicated to their children, their jobs, their volunteer projects, their sports teams, their style and type of living, etc.

Dedication to that which you love is difficult to maintain on an day in and day out basis. Its hard to be true to the sports team when they lose or the owners are acting weird. It is difficult to stick with your job when you continuously are asked to do more with less for less compensation. Its difficult to walk away from the challenge of a new assignment when you know in your hear that you want to continue with your commitment to excellence and remain dedicated to the focus of your current work.

Its difficult to remain true and faithful to yourself when temptations and pressure are conversely pushing and pulling at your every move.

But here was Mr. I ❤ Josie…just putting it out there….I am dedicated to this person and I don’t want to hear what you have to say because I ❤ Josie.

Recognizing that what you love is being challenged is the first step to understanding the depths of your dedication. Voicing your dedication is the second step. Acting on your dedication is the third step.

So I say to you all reading this, be true to yourself and to those things you love. when someone wants to take it from you, stand up and say, I ❤ Josie.

Thanks for being my friends.

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.