Run she said, it will be fun she said.

Image

Originally written in September 2012. 

It was a long time in preparing for my first half marathon….

So we signed up and over a year I went through the process of fracturing both legs, and learning to love to run.

I didn’t help that a friend of my was also training, but she advanced herself into the Boston Marathon…..while I could only hope for Disney’s run….Talk about goal setting.

Nevertheless, I took on the challenge and decided to see if I could do it.  I walked, I crawled, I walked again, then I ran.  I learned that running is indeed therapy and that I shouldn’t run at night since I’m too lazy to carry a flashlight.

But I did make it, with my friend Monique, who really doesn’t count since she isn’t afraid of anything…the original badass..

But we went, and we ran, and we finished.

Here is what I learned…

1.  The monkeys don’t chatter as loudly when you run.

2.  Getting to the venue is often more challenging than the run itself.  We had a Planes, Trains, and Automobiles moment or two since we missed our flight from Sac to John Wayne.

3.  It is possible to be at three airports in one day and not fly more than 1.5 hours.

4.  The early bird gets the best shirts at the Fitness Expo.

5.  Going to bed early doesn’t apply to the monkeys in my mind….

6. Having a hard time getting up at 4 AM does apply to the monkeys.

7.  The cheerleaders along the way don’t have to be your relation to call your name and cheer you on. You can indeed accept the energy of others to push you forward.

8.  You can indeed hear your family voices distinctly and clearly even in a sea of humans all yelling at once.

9. The idea of accomplishing something out of sheer will and determination is more satisfying than anything else you can imagine. Even with a bum knee and a bad cardio system.

10.  Honoring how you go to the finish line is as important as getting to the finish line.  To my family, thank you for suffering late breakfasts and dinners….to my Cal hat, I am sorry I didn’t take you along.  You would have been faithful and not broken like the new cap I thought I couldn’t live without.  To the new cap…really?

11. Constantly coming across new scenery and activities made the route go by quickly…just as in life…

12. Just because you can get to the starting line doesn’t mean that you are free to go ahead…sometimes you have to pass on the left and run in the flowerbeds….

13.  Just because you are stalled at the starting line doesn’t mean that the race is lost…it just means that is where you are supposed to be at that moment…..when it opens up, run like the wind!….

14.  Celebrate your achievements…wear your medal…and plan for the next accomplishment asap….and lastly,

15. Beer tastes better if you run 13.1 miles to get it.

Thanks for being my friends.

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Friendship, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.