The Yellow Sweater

train_at_the_station_201195I stepped off the train in my yellow sweater
careful to step lightly, my eyes blinded by your smile
I looked away
 
Illuminated into life under a summer’s sun
your eye’s glance caught the reflection of my stare
You looked away
 
I turned again to test my imagination
did your eyes bore into mine?
I stepped away
 
I walked briskly, daring myself not to turn
to look back and perhaps see you not looking back
I slipped away
 
The paper ad said looking for the girl in the yellow sweater
its pages laughing at my cowardice
I tossed it away
 
A week later it said, meet me at the tracks
the ink said, you know where and what to wear
I turned away
 
Staring through the window into and past the neighbors house
I wondered could it be me he asks about
I laughed it away
 
The love affair haunts me
desire so deep; it is me
My head shakes it away
 
He comes to me full of potential each day
My mind smiles for me, what could have been
I turn away
 
The sweater’s bright yellow is dull with age
I pray his heart does not see it is faded
I want to stay
 
Staring through the window across the street
I wondered if it is ever me he smiles about
I run away
 
His gentle way of piercing my heart consoles
The lure of the flame and the sting of regret
I slip away
 
No remedy found, I take my leave each day
Not knowing if love will return to tease me tomorrow
I fade away
Thanks for being my friends.
About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.