When the Moon Hits Your Eye….

“Mom, I’m coming home with a puppy.  You can’t talk me out of it. You’re going to love her,” he said.

And like that my life changed again, without my permission, and without my input.

I have always been known to be a super strict parent.  Both my kids have been very successful in school, and for the most part, in all aspects of their young lives.  But this defiance caught me off guard.  I actually thought for most of the day, that he was kidding.  How bold could he be?

Last summer we lost two family pets, dogs.  One was my daughter’s only pet and he was 17 years old.  The other dog was much younger, and my son’s dog.  She died of cancer.  Needless to say our summer was extremely sad and without sounding too cold, it was also the first time I could go anywhere, anytime without worrying about who would feed the dogs, and whether or not they would be lonely without us.

I told my ex favorite son that it was selfish to get a pet then leave her in 6 months when he goes off to college.  I reminded him how much work a puppy can be.

He replied, “I made sure to pick a girl.  You are going to love her. She’ll be a great running partner mom.”

Meanwhile, my poor daughter, living far away has been begging for permission to get a dog. NO, NO and NO I told her.  You have to focus on college. You can’t coop up a dog in an apartment.  Wait until you finish graduate school, then you can do what you want.  She listened, but I can tell she is lonely, and a pet would help.  But I’m not near her to be able to help so my stand is NO.  I made him tell her.

Meanwhile, after he chose a name for his new best friend, I sent him off to buy food, a collar, and a name tag. He made an appointment with the vet, took the dog and has been very vigilant with the yard clean up, and puppy potty breaks.  He is doing well with her, and she has learned to let us know when she wants to go outside. This dog is really smart and at almost 7 weeks, I find her progress incredible.

But seriously! What could he be thinking?  Does he think that I need some responsibility whiles he’s gone to college? Does he think I’ll be lonely without him? Does he think he can comfort me when he leaves, by leaving a little bit of him behind? Geez.  I could just visit him couldn’t I? Or maybe that’s what he is trying to avoid.  It like watching an episode of Everybody Loves Raymond… and I am Marie.  Not funny.

So, with that, let me introduce Luna, born on my daughter’s birth date, and brought to us on the night of a bright full moon.

I’m still shaking my head, but c’est la vie.

Thanks for being my friends.  You can stop laughing now.Luna

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Luna, Dog Extraordinaire, Mother, Parenting, Pets, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.