Day 7: Gratitude Moves

IMG_3959.JPG
My friend asked to give voice to my gratitude for three things, once a day for a week. Today I got my sorry self out of bed at 5:30 in the morning and went on a hike at Montaña de Oro State Park .

Because of a fractured shoulder I haven’t been out of my house to do anything for some time except to buy a few groceries. So to say that I was excited about being out in the natural world would be a tremendous understatement. The best part of today’s activities was the ability to get out of my head and think about being active. It’s amazing how spending a day focusing on ones footsteps can be so calming.

Of course my hiker chick friend Kelly and I talked all day with only intermittent bouts of silence. We agreed that today would be a photo day and we were not going to pressure ourselves in any way. As if from her mouth to Gods ears, the steep uphill portion of our walk was conquered under a marine layer that burned off just in time to start our descent. Cameras clicked and we reviewed our pictures to see if more would be necessary or if we could move on to our next nature scene.

Kelly said, these pictures don’t do this area justice. I replied, that’s because we are meant to see it in person. If we could get everything we are experiencing from a picture, we would never venture out.

These words seem so obvious. As I mentioned yesterday, we often ignore the obvious. Pictures on the Internet can not and do not satisfy all our senses. I am so grateful that instead we are able to choose to take the physical steps necessary to appreciate the world in person, albeit one cautious step at a time. Gratitude moved me and I felt at ease.

As our day progressed we came to recognize and become friendly with fellow hikers. In particular, there was a group of about 8 young twenty-something’s that like us started the day by summiting the 1300 foot high peak prior to enjoying the sunny afternoon on the beach amongst the tide pools. They were full of energy and clearly having a wonderful time. As we watched them venture into the cold water only to retreat immediately I thought how lucky they were to experience the world together like that.

Earlier in the day we took their picture so that everyone in the group could be included. Now on the jetties that lay deep into the ocean we watched from afar as they again worked to get that perfect group shot. We yelled at them to assemble and I took their picture from afar with my long lens. The pictures appear to capture the friendship and love between these kids. I thought, I am so grateful that there are many young people that care enough to cherish our public parks , visit them and demand that we continue to care for them. Gratitude moves generations to work toward preservation of the world around us.

As we left our day behind us and after enjoying an organic and delicious meal we drove home. Still talking about everything that popped into our minds I realized that the prayer of my yoga teacher had been answered today.

May you be well, may you have peace, may you have ease in relationship.

Today I experienced all of these states of being and for that I am eternally grateful and emotionally moved.

My inventory of things for which I am grateful has served me well. I am grateful that you accompanied me on my journey. I hope you have enjoyed following along.

Namaste

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Challenge, Friendship, Gratitude, Hiking, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.