His Name is Avi

IMG_5236Funny, when I sat down to write this I thought I had a lot to say.  Turns out, perhaps its too much to put into words.

Eleven days ago, my FDO delivered her first baby, and my first grandchild.  His name is Avi and I love him.

My friends have been wonderfully supportive and excited for us.  We have entertained visitors, and received gifts of congratulations and love.

We have all gained weight in support of FDO and now are suffering the consequences of our poor eating choices. I haven’t been running as much as I should, primarily because I don’t want to leave the house in case I’m needed.  How vain right?….I’m not exactly lactating!

I haven’t been able to make time to write about his arrival and what it means to the family because we have been a little busy. After all, I have to learn how to diaper a “squirmer” and do it fast so that he won’t cry.  I had to learn to swaddle again.  I had to learn to listen in my sleep in case his mommy needs help in the middle of the night. And most of all, I had to learn to sit back and enjoy the process.

Today I ran 9 miles and feel good about it.  More importantly, I came home to once again hear the voice that was semi silenced by the inability to breathe while pregnant, singing lullabies to a hiccuping baby, happy to be held. And as we chatted about silly things, she said, “I’m pretty happy.”

That’s all I needed to hear.

So back to a routine I go.  Back to the same things that made me happy.  Only now I have another aspect of life to experience and find joy in. His name is Avi and I love him.

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Auto-Biographical Fiction, Daughters, Family Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.