3/4 of the Way There

IMG_1632

This is my mother, my mom.  I’ve never written about what she means to me before because I cry every time. Here she is all of about 22 years old.  She is holding her first child, me.

I’d like to tell you all that she means to me but I still can’t stop crying. Its not a bad thing, just love leaking.

Here is my mom, a great grandmother three times over, at age 74 1/2.

IMG_6627 mom avi

Today is her 75th birthday.  I called her and she said, “Well, I’m 3/4 of the way there.”  She may have a goal of living to 100.  Of course she does.  That’s my mom.

A lot has happened in the 54 years in between those two pictures…so much I can’t even being to describe in the few minutes I have right now.  Let’s just say, incredible is too small of a word to describe her.

Happy birthday, mom!  I love you forever, I love you for always.

 

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3/4 of the Way There

  1. jlfatgcs says:

    Love your writing; how you write and your stories. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.