Impassable at High Tide? Wait, what?

lost coast picture

This time of year is usually marked by a long backpacking trip with my fellow hiker chicks across some portion of the John Muir Trail.  We started this quest about three years ago and were progressing nicely through our goal of getting all 200+ miles under our respective belts.  Forrester Pass? Check! Mount Whitney? Summited!  But this was accomplished during CA’s snowless drought years.

Last winter, however, it snowed like crazy.  After following a number of PCT bloggers the past few weeks, we decided that this year we won’t hike the higher elevations as per normal and instead turned our attention to the Lost Coast Trail .

My sister, the master planner and ultimate task master, has researched, plotted, planned, assigned duties, researched some more and we are ready to go.  Well sorta.  We leave tomorrow and I’m still playing around in the garden, answering email, and printing out trail information.

Don’t you worry, I’ll be ready, even if the map has a few areas marked impassable at high tide.  I’ll toss my pack into that truck, even if the bear tracks on the beach freak me out a little.  (I’ve chased bears away for sure, but these pictures impressed me.)  I’ll be ready even if I have to worry about ticks and poison plants….and did I mention the ocean?  The guide says, “don’t turn your back on the ocean”….Well, duh.

Yeah, this trip is my first not in the mountains….why are mountains less scary?  OR why does the coast line seem more dangerous?  I don’t know.  But I can’t wait to conquer these nerves.

Ok folks, time for me to follow my own advice.  I shall gird my loins and march forward.

Siempre adelante!

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Happiness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impassable at High Tide? Wait, what?

  1. Kelly Zielsdorf says:

    This journey and adventure are one I will surely miss. I will be here dealing with state and the Feds resenting them for their poor timing of interrupting my time with my hiking besties! I will be praying for each of you and look forward to hearing about the tails of the lost coast trail.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.