It’s a Yearly Event

Lennie.jpg

A few years ago my sister, Lennie was introduced to a man that all of us who have ever lived in a small town wondered, how is that they never met before?  They started dating, and fell in love. Yeah that kind of love.  The sappy, mushy, embarrassing kind of love.

She told me, “I really like him.”  I told her, good, its about time.

Lennie was married to my brother once, and they had three beautiful kids. After the divorce things were a little rough; but, those kids are my God children and as such, I will never abandon either them or their mother. So Lennie and I became even closer over time.

I am protective of her, but there is not much I can do that she can’t or hasn’t done for herself.  She has a great personality and is truly loved by all.  Just last week I told her that I always feel like I’m in the palm of her hand when we do our girls only backpacking trips, because she takes such good care of me.

So when she married Mr. Smith ( I think he is a Russian spy faking his name and his ‘Murica boasts) I was happy but a little sad too.  I was feeling a little greedy and selfish.  I thought, well, there goes my time with Lennie.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. Things in our marriage, wait, things in their marriage have been perfect.  I spend as much time as life allows and the best part, is that while Mr. Smith will never admit it, I think he likes me. Well, he likes me in a second grader kinda way.  He pokes and pushes and teases and plays.  I couldn’t ask for anything more.

And, as our family has transformed from a traditional one to a what-the-heck-were-you-thinking! kind of family, so have our hearts been moved to unconditional love of what and whomever life throws our way.  New daughters to love, new adventures to have and, new love to explore and cultivate.

So today, on their third anniversary, I say to Lennie, “I really like him.”  To Mr. Smith, I say, you’re a dork.

To both, congratulations and best wishes for many, many happy returns of the day.

Love you.

 

 

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Happiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.