Good bye Nashville

Note: I originally wrote this on May 1, 2016. I published it incorrectly and well… Here it is.


I don’t know, but I’m feeling really melancholy about leaving Nashville today.  Ok maybe it the 16 ounces of Kirin I just swallowed on an empty stomach. Either way, I sure love this city and the surrounding area. 

I came in for the third time in two calendar years to try and accomplish my Tennesee half marathon. You know my story, first a broken shoulder and then a half in Chattanooga that was short by half a mile.  Yeah, so I had to come back (poor me) to try and get that notch on my belt.

In the mean time, I visited museums, local sites of interest and the closest national park sites I could find. And I fell in love..hard.

It’s the people.  At Hillbilly BBQ in Dover (or was it Clarksville) where for 8 dollars I was served 6 pork ribs, 6 oz of coleslaw and another 6 of potato salad, and a diet Dr. Pepper under a patio cover, during a major thunder storm by a young man only too happy to help me out.  Where a young 6 year old made faces at me through the stairwell rails of the tiny shack decorated with the stereotypical barefoot hillbilly smokng a cobb pipe while her mamma and daddy ordered some pulled pork sandwiches

Or maybe it was Lizzy, the eagle lady sitting in her car near the bench people sit on to watch the three week old eaglet and it’s parents trying desperately to keep it fed and warm.  She said, “our” Eagles, like she owned them.  Wait, she does. Doesn’t  she?  


Or maybe it was the little tour guide at the Grand Ole Opry. She lead us around like she were walking among Angels in heaven. Her eyes sparkled with every word she spoke and she floated a as if she held the key to the pearly gates themselves. 


Or maybe it was the waitress who served me bacon and eggs at the nearby CrackerBarrel. Her patience and endless refills of my tea kept me going back for my morning meal throughout my stay. 
It was all of that and more…

People ask me why do you want to go to other states to run… Duh it’s the people!

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Running. Bookmark the permalink.