Cesar Chavez Taught Me to Love Climbing Mountains

 

A little late, but I was reminded to share this when I took my 78-year-old father, my 89-year-old father-in-law and my 22-month-old grandson to visit Helen and Cesar at the National Memorial. I mentioned to my mom as we worked in the kitchen later that day they with Helens passing, The Cause felt more like history than ever before. Visiting the memorial was a wonderful reminder that we must still fight for basic human rights. Someday, when my grandchild looks at the pictures he will be grateful for the sacrifices his grandparents made in planting the tree so that he might have shade.

Source: Cesar Chavez Taught Me to Love Climbing Mountains

About Caro

I am a social worker by training and a peace officer by profession having worked with California’s delinquent youth and young adults for 28 years. I firmly believe that our development as humans depends on our environment and that sometimes we get stuck. As such, I write about those things we sometimes ignore or fail to see until we are forced to pay attention.
This entry was posted in Cesar Chavez, Happiness, Hiking, self determination and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.